“David Teddy was more than worth the money... he actually took the time to listen.”- Rosslyn S.
“David Teddy and his team are outstanding!!! WORTH EVERY PENNY!”- Nicholas D.
“Daniel Talbert is a top-notch attorney... he has a never-give-up approach even when things look bleak.”- Roger T.
“Ralph is the epitome of what a lawyer should be.”- Melinda R.
Why You Need a Cleveland County Workers’ Compensation Lawyer
The consequences could extend far beyond your health if you get hurt at work. What if you can’t work while you’re recovering? Will your employer keep paying you? What if you never fully recover and can’t return to work? How will you provide for yourself and your family?
An experienced Cleveland County workers’ compensation lawyer can help you answer these questions and secure your family’s future. While your employer should honor their responsibility to you after an injury, sometimes you have to fight to get the benefits you are due.
The attorneys at Teddy, Meekins & Talbert, P.L.L.C., represent many injured workers after devastating on-the-job accidents. We are not afraid to hold employers and insurance companies accountable for their commitment to injured workers.
“David Teddy was more than worth the money... he actually took the time to listen.” - Rosslyn S.
“David Teddy and his team are outstanding!!! WORTH EVERY PENNY!” - Nicholas D.
“Daniel Talbert is a top-notch attorney... he has a never-give-up approach even when things look bleak.” - Roger T.
“Ralph is the epitome of what a lawyer should be.” - Melinda R.
If you were injured at work in Cleveland County, you might be eligible for the following workers’ compensation benefits:
- Medical benefits – Workers’ comp will pay for approved medical expenses related to your injury, including emergency room care, doctor’s visits, diagnostic tests, surgery, physical therapy, medication, medical devices, and in-home assistance.
- Wage-replacement benefits – If your injury prevents you from working temporarily or permanently, workers’ compensation will pay a portion of your lost wages. The compensation amount will depend on your injuries’ severity and longevity.
- Temporary partial disability (TPD) – If you can return to work but at a reduced wage, TPD benefits pay two-thirds of the difference between your pre-injury and post-injury wages. You will be subject to a seven-day waiting period before TPD benefits begin. If your temporary disability continues for 21 days or more, you will receive compensation for the first seven days.
- Temporary total disability (TTD) – If you cannot return to work because of your injuries, TTD benefits pay two-thirds of your average weekly wage pre-injury for up to 500 weeks to a maximum rate set by the North Carolina Industrial Commission. Employees receiving TTD benefits will also be subject to the seven-day waiting period.
- Permanent partial disability (PPD) – If you reach maximum medical improvement (MMI) but still suffer impairment of a body part listed in the North Carolina Workers’ Compensation Act (NCWCA), a specified amount of PPD benefits are paid according to a formula. The formula includes the percentage of your impairment as determined by your doctor, your average weekly wage, and the number of weeks listed in the NCWCA.
- Permanent total disability (PTD) – If you suffered an injury that leaves you permanently disabled, such as the loss of a limb, spinal injury, severe brain injury, or severe burns over a third of your body, you could receive PTD benefits for life.
The NCWCA requires all businesses with three or more employees to obtain workers’ compensation insurance. There are some exceptions to this rule, however. These workers are not covered by workers’ compensation insurance:
- Employees of certain railroads
- Casual employees whose employment is not in the course of the trade, business, profession, or occupation of the employer
- Domestic employees of a household
- Farm laborers, if fewer than 10 full-time, non-seasonal farm laborers work for the employer
- Sellers of agricultural products
- Federal employees
Common Workplace Accidents and Injuries in Cleveland County, NC
Some of the most common workplace accidents and injuries in Cleveland County, NC, include the following:
- Slips, trips, and falls
- Being struck by an object
- Being crushed by an object
- Vehicle-related accidents
- Overexertion injuries
- Repetitive stress injuries
- Fire or explosion-related injuries
- Harmful substance exposure
Cleveland County Deadlines on Workers’ Comp Cases
You need to be aware of two critical deadlines in Cleveland County workers’ comp cases:
- 30 days – You have 30 days to notify your employer in writing of your accident.
- Two years – You have two years from the date of the injury to file a workers’ compensation claim with the NC Industrial Commission.
Failure to comply with these deadlines could jeopardize your right to compensation.
Steps to Take After a Workplace Injury in Cleveland County, NC
If you were injured at work in Cleveland County, you must follow these steps to protect your right to compensation:
- Tell your employer. As soon as an accident occurs, tell your employer about it and your injuries.
- Seek medical attention. If it is an emergency and there are no medical personnel available on-site, go to the emergency room. Otherwise, you will need to visit a medical professional approved by your employer. Tell them that your injury is work-related and how it occurred.
- Notify your employer in writing. Within 30 days of the accident, you must notify your employer of your injury in writing, including the date of the injury and a short description. Keep a copy of this written notice for your records.
- Follow your doctor’s orders. Follow your doctor’s orders completely. Do not skip any appointments, medications, or procedures. Failure to cooperate in your medical care could jeopardize your workers’ comp claim.
- Consult a workers’ comp attorney. A workers’ compensation attorney can help you gather the necessary paperwork to strengthen your claim for workers’ comp benefits and complete the paperwork to file your claim.
- File your claim. Within two years of the injury date, you must file your claim with the NC Industrial Commission.
- Receive benefits or file an appeal. If your claim is approved, your employer’s insurance company should begin paying you benefits. If not, you can work with your attorney to appeal the denial.
If you suffered a workplace injury, contact Teddy, Meekins & Talbert, P.L.L.C., today to speak with one of our experienced attorneys about filing a workers’ comp claim in Cleveland County, NC. We can handle the legal process and fight for the benefits you are entitled to.