We all make mistakes in life. Sometimes they’re thoughtless, silly mistakes, like locking your keys in your car. Sometimes they’re big mistakes, like stealing something. With the help of our talented expunction lawyers at Teddy, Meekins & Talbert, P.L.L.C., you could move past even your big mistakes.
It can be difficult if one of your mistakes resulted in legal consequences, like a misdemeanor larceny conviction. Under North Carolina law, you have the right to petition to remove the public record of your conviction if you meet certain criteria.
That said, it doesn’t happen automatically. You need a misdemeanor larceny lawyer to help you successfully expunge your arrest and conviction. When you find yourself asking, “Can misdemeanor larceny be expunged in NC?” turn to Teddy, Meekins & Talbert, P.L.L.C., for the answer.
What Is Considered Misdemeanor Larceny in North Carolina?
North Carolina defines larceny as “the receiving or possessing of stolen goods.” In one word, it’s theft.
State authorities differentiate felony and misdemeanor larceny mostly by the value of the goods. Receiving or possessing anything worth over $1,000 can result in a felony charge. Things valued less than $1,000 could be considered misdemeanor larceny.
There are a few exceptions. For example, if you steal gas, that’s automatically a felony. Similarly, if you steal over $100 from your employer, you may be indicted for a felony. Likely, you’ll know if you’re facing the consequences that misdemeanor larceny convictions merit in NC.
Punishments for Misdemeanor Larceny in NC
The current table that courts use to determine NC misdemeanor larceny punishment has been in effect since 2013. It recommends a number of days for probation or imprisonment.
For individuals with no prior convictions, the table indicates from 1 to 45 days of punishment.
Convictions for felonies can result in much higher penalties. After you have served your time and paid your fines, you can contact Teddy, Meekins & Talbert, P.L.L.C., to discuss the possibility of getting your conviction expunged.
Qualifications for Expungement in NC
In order to qualify for an expungement in North Carolina, you have to meet several criteria. Our experienced expungement lawyers at Teddy, Meekins & Talbert, P.L.L.C., can help determine if you do, and then assist you in documenting your qualifications officially.
The criteria include:
- If you were found not guilty, you are immediately eligible.
- If you were convicted, you’ve waited the mandatory five years after your conviction, probation, or imprisonment.
- Your crime was non-violent
- You’ve had no other convictions or prior expunctions of convictions.
If you meet these criteria, you can start a petition to expunge your conviction or arrest.
How to Expunge Your Misdemeanor Larceny Charge in North Carolina
While you have the right to petition to expunge your record, it doesn’t just happen automatically. That’s why you need an experienced North Carolina attorney on your side.
You’ll need an affidavit (statement made under oath) describing your good character and behavior. You’ll also need letters supporting your expungement from people you’re not related to.
We can explain exactly what you’ll need and how it will be convincing to state authorities.
Contact Our Misdemeanor Larceny Expungement Lawyers in Shelby for Help
To get a misdemeanor larceny expunged, NC residents need reliable legal advice and representation. We can provide that to you. Contact Teddy, Meekins & Talbert, P.L.L.C., today for a confidential consultation. Let’s begin the process to clear your record now.